PBS NewsHour & ITVS Host Live Chat on Egypt Today

HISTORIC CHANGES IN EGYPT: LESSONS IN DEMOCRACY, CULTURE, TECHNOLOGY
LIVE CHAT BEGINS AT 2 PM EST / 11 AM PST

Nearly three weeks of protest on the streets of Cairo have managed to upend a government and president that ruled Egypt for almost 30 years.

Join the PBS NewsHour and ITVS today for a live chat featuring international filmmakers and newsmakers as well as community organizers, educators, and activists to trace the evolution of democracy movements worldwide, with a special focus on Egypt.

Moderated by PBS NewsHour Correspondent Hari Sreenivasan, the online discussion will go live at 2 PM ET / 11 AM PT (9 PM in Egypt) today, February 15 on pbs.org/newshour/extra/egypt.

Find out about PBS NewsHour Extra’s Student Voice reports, featuring first hand accounts from a teenage journalist living in Alexandria, Egypt, as well as ongoing coverage of the situation.

Plus, watch excerpts from the ITVS documentary Shayfeen.com which explores the last round of elections in Egypt and the power of digital media. You can also find related content on ITVS’ Egypt & Democracy page.